Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award trophy
The Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award recognizes college football coaches who demonstrate Responsibility, Integrity, Sportsmanship and Excellence both on and off the field. Endorsed by the College Football Hall of Fame and now in its eighth year, the program awards one winning coach from each NCAA division (I-FBS, I-FCS, II, and III) with $50,000 to donate to a charity of their choice, a $20,000 grant to each school's alumni association, and the Coach of the Year trophy.

selection criteria

Fan voting will decide the top 15 coaches from each division that are eligible to become finalists. We will then use our patented, objective scoring model – which is endorsed by the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame – to determine ten finalists from Division I-FBS and five finalist coaches from each of the other three divisions, based on the criteria below.


Coaches aren't just leaders of their team, but also leaders in their community. They give back to their schools and communities that cheer on their teams every week.


Knowing how to win the right way. The best coaches refuse to bend or break the rules to keep their teams on top and require the same from their players.


The best coaches conduct themselves in an honorable way on and off the field. By treating their players, opposing coaches and the media with respect, they set an example for everyone to follow.


Wins and losses aren't the only measure of excellence. It's also about encouraging student-athletes to excel in the classroom so they be successful in anything they pursue when their playing days are done.

on the field

Wins, penalties, and year-over-year improvements are among the measures of on-field excellence by the coach, his staff, and his team.

off the field

The coach's commitment to education is measured by academic progress rate (APR) scores for FBS and FCS schools and success at producing Academic All-Americans for Divisions II and III.

Winner Selection

Fan Votes

college hall of fame selection committee votes

national media votes

Active football coaches in all NCAA divisions with a winning record are eligible to receive the 2013 Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award. The winner in each division is chosen using a combination of fan votes and votes received from members of the 2013 Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Selection Committee.

To be a finalist, a coach must NOT have had: Major program infractions assessed by the NCAA in the current year (2013) at the school he represents, APR penalties assessed to the program by the NCAA in the last two reporting periods, or major integrity violations during 2013 as determined solely by Liberty Mutual Insurance (also applies to members of coach’s staff).

The Voters

College Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee

  • Bob Anderson
  • Jim Ballard
  • Tom Beck
  • Roger Brown
  • Teel Bruner
  • Marino Casem
  • Chuck Cecil
  • Jim Christopherson
  • Carmen Cozza
  • John Cooper
  • Jeff Davis
  • Dan Dierdorf
  • Jim Dombroski
  • Terry Donahue
  • Vince Dooley
  • Joe Dudek
  • LaVell Edwards
  • Dick Farley
  • Joe Fusco
  • Archie Griffin
  • Bob Griese
  • Roger Harring
  • Chad Hennings
  • Lou Holtz
  • Jim Houston
  • Don James
  • Billy Joe
  • Johnnie Johnson
  • Brian Kelly
  • Ted Kessinger
  • Roy Kidd
  • Gordy Lockbaum
  • Ronnie Lott
  • Archie Manning
  • Fred Martinelli
  • Mark May
  • Rueben Mays
  • Randall McDaniel
  • Don McPherson
  • Darrell Murda
  • Don Nehlen
  • Tom Osborne
  • Tubby Raymond
  • Bob Reade
  • John Robinson
  • James Saxton
  • Jeff Siemon
  • Bruce Smith
  • Jim Sochor
  • Jessie Tuggle
  • Herschel Walker
  • Curt Warner
  • Frosty Westering
  • Paul Wiggin
  • Reggie Williams
  • Richard Wood
  • Ron Yary

National Media

  • Craig Bennett
  • Jack Bogaczyk
  • Christine Brennan
  • Tim Brando
  • Chris Childers
  • Colin Cowherd
  • Steve Conroy
  • Teddy Greenstein
  • Clyde Hughes
  • Dan Jenkins
  • Bill King
  • Ivan Maisel
  • Stewart Mandel
  • Gordie Mann
  • Keith McMillan
  • Brandon Misener
  • Ryan Tipps
  • Kelly Whiteside
  • Bud Withers

The Fans