Gus Malzahn


Gus Malzahn is in his first year as head coach of the Auburn Tigers. From 2009-11, Malzahn served as the offensive coordinator for the Tigers and won the Broyles Award for the nation’s top assistant in 2010 when Auburn won the BCS National Championship. In 2012, he was the head coach of Arkansas State and led the Red Wolves to the Sun Belt Conference title and a win in the Bowl. This season, Malzahn improbably led Auburn to the top of the SEC West (the Tigers finished with zero conference wins in 2012) as well as a thrilling victory over then-No. 1 Alabama in what many consider is the greatest Iron Bowl ever played. Coach Malzahn topped off an incredible first season at Auburn, by leading the Tigers to the BCS National Championship Game, the SEC Championship and a 12-1 record.

Craig Bohl

North Dakota State

Under Coach Bohl in his 11th year, the Bison have gone undefeated at 15-0 with a big road win against defending Big 12 champions, Kansas State, in their opening game of the season, and a big win over Towson in the FCS National Championship. The 2013 playoffs were their third win in a row under Coach Bohl who has also overseen the Bison’s latest 24-game winning streak, allowed 11.3 points per game, and NDSU is 43-2 over the past three seasons. The Bison are arguably the most dominant team in all of college football. This year, Coach Bohl was named the Missouri Valley Football Conference Coach of the Year, while eight of his players were also named first-team all-MVFC. Along with their success on the gridiron, the Bison also had six players named to the MVFC All-Academic Team.

Curt Wiese

Minnesota Duluth

After spending the last five years overseeing offensive units which moved the football with as much proficiency as any NCAA II team in the country, Curt Wiese received a much-deserved promotion on Dec. 21, 2012 when he became the sixth head coach in the University of Minnesota Duluth’s storied 81-year history. Since Wiese’s arrival at UMD in February 2008, the Bulldogs have gone 63-8 (a record unmatched by any NCAA II school), captured two NCAA II national championships (2008 and 2010), four overall Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference titles and five NSIC North Division crowns, made five NCAA II playoff appearances and produced two perfect 15-0 seasons. The Bulldogs finished up the 2013 season with a strong 11-2 record.

Pete Fredenburg

Mary Hardin-Baylor

After starting the UMHB football program in 1998, Fredenburg has compiled a 146-34 record over the course of 15 seasons. The Cru are 8-time ASC Champions and have earned 11 trips to the NCAA Division III Football Championships. Fredenburg is a seven-time ASC Coach of the Year and has earned AFCA Regional Coach of the Year honors six times in his career and has coached more than twenty players who have played professional football. This season, UMHB posted a 13-1 overall record and won the ASC with a 6-0 league mark. The Cru advanced to the NCAA Division III National Championships for the tenth straight season and moved into the National Semifinals before falling to Wisconsin-Whitewater 16-15. The 13 victories tie the school and ASC record for wins in a single season and the Cru also tied the school mark with 13 consecutive wins. Additionally, Coach Fredenburg placed 5 players on the DIII All-American team.